Oreoing new things and succeeding!

Standard

I hereby declare: WHOEVER INVENTED POKE CAKES IS A GENIUS! Yeah yeah, you got it, this was the first time I tried to bake one. And yeah you also got that it was delicious 😀 IS delicious, one little slice is still in my fridge, but not for long eheheheh.

Oreo Poke Cake dry

Today is friday!! Fuck yes! I’m working on shifts right now so actually I have to work during weekends, but who cares: friday means tonite and tomorrow night I’ll get to go out with friends and have some fun! I’m not going out much these days so I really need it \^^/ What the hell am I going to wear?? Ahaha XD

Oreo Poke Cake raw

It may sound weird, but I also like weekends BECAUSE I work. I like it better when there is a crazy rush in the Burger King where I work. Like saturday for lunch, for example! You begin your shift WHOAH it’s like being in the middle of a tornado, and when the rush is finished you realize hours passed by SO FUCKIN FAST! True you have pickles in your hair and BBQ sauce inside your bra, but it’s fun work nonetheless.

Oreo Poke Cake step1

I tend to avoid baking or cooking things that require pre-made store-bought things. I like to cook things from scratch, if I have the time for it 🙂 That’s why I never tried a poke cake until now: all the recipes I found for it asked for a pudding mix, and even a cake mix (chocolate in this case). I didn’t use the store-bought chocolate mix… but I also don’t feel really comfortable using agar-agar or gelatin, so I finally decided to buy a pudding mix and try anyway!

Oreo Poke Cake poked

The result was amazing. So much that I’m already thinking about next flavours combinations. Orange cake with grand marnier/custard filling. Chocolate with rum based filling… You see: lots of booze involved anyway.

Oreo Poke Cake frosting

Probably most of you have already eaten a poke cake at least once in your life, unlike me. So it will not be a great revelation when I tell you: the best part is that the cake gets REALLY moist and tender, and oozes chocolate (in this particular case) deliciousness at every bite. It’s also very unstable, so forget clean slices: drop it onto a plate as best as you can, it WILL be messy. If I had to change something, I would add some extra roughly-chopped Oreos on top of your slice just before eating, because it lacks a bit of crunchiness. I brought this cake to a friend’s house so I didn’t have any with me :/

Oreo Poke Cake 2

Poking Oreos like a Boss

  • Servings: around 9 servings - not big
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

While cookin’ listen to:

Drink: Chocolate or cream liqueurs are too easy. Let’s drink Tequila Sunrise, just because!

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup flour
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tbs baking powder
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 6 tbs milk
  • 4 tbs vegetable oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 15 Oreos
  • half a box of chocolate pudding mix
  • required milk for your pudding – read instructions but it should be a scant cup
  • 1/2 cup cream cheese
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1 tbs vanilla extract

Preparation:

  1. Preheat your oven at 350° F (180° C)
  2. Mix together cocoa, baking powder, flour, sugar, the 6 tbs of milk, oil and eggs. Yes that’s your cake ready!!
  3. Put 5 Oreos in a plastic bag and think of your worst enemies. Beat them with a wooden knife until they are finely crushed
  4. Oil (or use a cooking spray if you have it) a baking tin (mine was 10 inches x 10 inches) and pour the cake batter in, then add the crushed oreos on top, as evenly as you can
  5. Bake at 350° F (180° C) for 35-40 minutes
  6. Let cool for 20-30 minutes and then poke the cake top. I used the handle of the same wooden spoon (which had a really weird life today apparently!!) and poked about 20 holes
  7. Prepare your pudding adding the required milk to the powder, then pour it on the cake. Make sure to get it evenly distributed on all the cake, use a spoon to get more control over it
  8. Watch the cake drink all that liquid *_*
  9. Refrigerate for at least 1 hour, 2 is better!
  10. Beat butter and cream cheese together until creamy, than add the powdered sugar and the vanilla extract
  11. Crush, roughly this time, some more Oreos and mix in the cream cheese mixture, then cover your cake with it. Try not to DRAG it, because you will displace the cookies already on top of the cake. Drop it in small portions all around then level it as best as you can
  12. Put in the fridge again until it’s time for serving. Put some more crushed Oreos on top just before eating!

Now for the final touches:

  • Calories: 3350
  • Fridge: it will keep 2-3 days
  • Freezable: nope
  • Next day: awesome!
  • Cold: it’s perfect
  • Hot: I don’t think so…
  • Re-heating: as above.
  • Made by: Eli

One thought on “Oreoing new things and succeeding!

Leave a comment