Master of spices

Standard

Summer, summer, where the hell are yooooou? Last year I got only cold and rain, this spring I’m getting cold and rain, I WANT THE SUUUUUN!! I wanna use my sandals and my pretty tank tops and tan a bit ;_;

Aloo Palak Spices

I don’t even know what to cook, one day I’m making ice cream because it’s june and I want to eat fucking ice cream, OK? The next day I’m making soup because it’s raining cats and dogs -_- One day you have to wear boots and the next it’s sandals… We’re basically living in between, I’m tired of it! Well, some would say “that’s what spring is” … I don’t wanna hear it!

Aloo Palak Cooking

Some time ago I bought all the necessaire to organise some cool picnics, from disposable cute glasses to disposable camping griddles, I even got a lot of sangria spice mix. But of course since it’s always bad weather I still couldn’t use any of that. I’ll take advantage of this time to think about what to cook for said picnics 🙂 Any ideas?

Aloo Palak Finished 3

As you can see, I have also cute summer themed tablecloths… Aw well.

This recipe comes from Indian cuisine, and it’s the first time I can get an Indian recipe just right! I always seem to use not enough spices or something like that. But this time, OOOH this time it’s GOOD!! It’s a veggie dish, meant to eat with basmati white rice. I will tell you the truth: I actually ate it just by itself, but without the rice it is a bit heavy on the seasoning 🙂

Aloo Palak Finished 2

Veggie Curry never tasted so Good (Aloo Palak)

  • Servings: 4 if eaten with rice
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

While cookin’ listen to:

Drink: Very refreshing beer

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 tbs olive oil
  • 1/2 onion
  • 3 potatoes
  • 1 cup frozen spinach
  • 1/2 can of coconut milk
  • 1 tbs curry powder
  • 1 tsp garam masala 
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp sugar

Preparation:

  1. Stir fry the onion with olive oil for about 5 minutes
  2. Add the potatoes cut into cubes and all the spices, cook for 3 minutes on medium-high heat
  3. Add the coconut milk and when it comes to a boil, reduce the heat to low, cover and let simmer for about 20 minutes, until potatoes are soft
  4. Add the spinach and cook covered for another 5-7 minutes
  5. Add salt and pepper as much as you like and serve with basmati rice 🙂

Now for the final touches:

  • Calories: 240 per portion + rice
  • Fridge: it will keep 2-3 days
  • Freezable: yes
  • Next day: still really good
  • Cold: doesn’t bring out the spice flavours…
  • Hot: perfect
  • Re-heating: just throw it in the microwave!
  • Made by: Eli

Leave a comment