Try this with any kind of fruit!

Standard

I am a strawberry addict. First step is to recognise it 😀 I’ve been one for a lot of years and I’m not planning to change! I could eat them all day every day, and even put them in sweets. Aw wait: that’s exactly what I did…

IMG_6581

The only sad thing is that strawberry season is getting towards the end here, it’s already difficult to find really good ones :/ Aw well, in the meanwhile I’m gonna stuff myself as much as I can!

There is a contradiction here: I love strawberries so much, but I usually don’t like strawberry-flavoured anything, from syrups to cocktails (they are too sweet), from soaps to lipgloss (too fake), and I also think they don’t turn out as great as other fruits when baked into desserts!!

IMG_6582

I mean, they are awesome fresh, on top of cheesecakes, chocolate cakes, cupcakes or any other kind of cakes. But when it comes to baking… the flavour doesn’t come out strong enough. I mean, if you use blackberries or apples or bananas, you can really taste them… with strawberries not so much :/ But I can’t help myself so I use them anyway. Got a problem with that?

IMG_6585

So my advice is: if you are making this sweet bread, which is soft and light and not dry at all (yeah I’m trying to avoid using the word “moist” but it’s getting hard!), and if you are NOT a strawberry addict like myself: try and change the fruit. You can also mix them. Next time I’ll try combining fresh peaches and fresh apricots ❤ I already know it will be amazing! Peaches and pineapples anyone?

IMG_6586

Of course I had this for breakfast topped with extra strawberries, and it was heaven 😀

Maybe a touch of whipped cream, tomorrow morning, ehehehe…

IMG_6591

 

Breakfast with Strawberries!

  • Servings: 8-10 medium slices. It's a half-sized loaf
  • Difficulty: Easy, as all the best sweet breads are!
  • Print

While cooking…

Listen to: Nirvana – In bloom

Drink: Not strawberry liquors or cocktails. Chocolate liquor, approved!!

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 butter
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 60 grams cream cheese
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup self-rising flour (or 1 cup regular flour + 1 tsp instant yeast + 1/4 tsp baking soda)
  • 1/4 cup buttermilk
  • 3/4 cup strawberries, diced

Preparation:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350° F (180° C)
  2. Cream the butter with sugar and cream cheese for 3-4 minutes, until fluffy
  3. Add the egg, vanilla extract and buttermilk, continue to whisk
  4. Add the flour (and yeast + soda if you use them) and mix manually just as long as they are combined, not too much
  5. Add the strawberries and fold gently
  6. Bake at 350° F (180° C) for 75 minutes, but start to check after the first 60, you never know! Every oven is different 🙂

Now for the final touches:

  • Calories: 1568 total
  • Fridge: it will keep 2-3 days
  • Freezable: yes, it will keep really nicely!
  • Next day: still very good
  • Cold: I like it at room temperature, my mum eats it right out of the fridge!
  • Hot: warm is delicious, when too hot gets a bit dry :/
  • Re-heating: see up here
  • Made by: Eli
  • Recipe adapted from Flavorite.net

One thought on “Try this with any kind of fruit!

  1. Our strawberry season hasn’t started yet, hard to imagine that it’s almost over already somewhere else 😛 Great recipe though, maybe I’ll try it when we finally get some local strawberries 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment