I always forget to write a title!

Standard

But this time it was the first thing I did, HA!!! Take that!

This blog was always meant to be rock-metal-booze oriented, while still presenting delicious recipes, of course. So we’re taking a step in that direction, in case you noticed the re-styling 😀

IMG_5762

In case you didn’t notice, well. It means you’re probably new so WELCOME! Don’t leave us and don’t be scared, we’re not (too) mean. Although I happened to sleep just 2 hours tonite and badly, so I’m not making any promises on my unkindness today. I just need a proper amount of caffeine and I don’t think there is enough in all of Italy right now. Can someone ship me a cargo from Ecuador?

IMG_5767

I had a dream about one of the walls of my bedroom collapsing. Like the doorframe was all askew and I was wondering if the wall was gonna fall down. Anyway I woke up and decided it was best not to sleep again so from 3:50 a.m. I kinda watched youtube until morning. Yeah.

IMG_5772

This bread is made with whole wheat and a bit of honey and it tastes really good, trust me. But the really WOW factor is the softness of it! Like it is REALLY pillowy (did someone just say pillow?) and if you press on top of it with a finger… it bounces back! Amazing, especially since I was not really convinced about the dough, it was very very sticky, so much that I though I would have to throw away the bread in the end. No such thing!

IMG_5773

Brownish Rolls Rocks!

  • Servings: 8 rolls
  • Difficulty: super easy, worst part is getting the dough out of your hands
  • Print

While cooking…

Listen to: Five finger death punch – Wash it all away

Drink: A good red wine, like a Pinot Noir

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 tbs active dry yeast
  • 2 + 1/2 tbs warm water
  • 2 + 1/2 tbs butter
  • 1 + 1/2 tbs honey
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 2 cups whole wheat flour

Preparation:

  1. Dissolve the yeast in the warm water and set aside for 10 minutes
  2. Mix together all the ingredients, no fuss about any specific order or method. At this point your dough can be really sticky, that’s ok
  3. Cover and let rest for an hour
  4. Take your baking tin of choice and with your fingers spread a really small amount of olive oil on bottom and sides. Just a tiny bit
  5. Mix the dough and divide it in 8. You should probably shape them into balls but the dough is too sticky, it’s difficult to get any shape at all. At least mine was!! Anyway just be sure to make them touch lightly one to another when putting them in the tin, not too close and not too far
  6. Wash your hands now before you go mad 😀
  7. Let rest again for an hour, and at some point start preheating your oven at 350° F (180°C)
  8. Bake them at 350° F (180°C) for 30 minutes, or until the surface is a very nice dark-golden color

 

Now for the final touches:

  • Calories: 150 each, 1200 if you eat the whole thing yourself. We totally understand 🙂
  • Fridge: no need, they keep fresh for 2 days after baking at room temperature
  • Freezable: nope
  • Next day: still good and really soft, on 2° day still good but a bit dn the dry side
  • Cold: good!
  • Hot: it’s difficult to resist them
  • Re-heating: yes, 20 seconds in the microwave makes the trick
  • Made by: Eli
  • Adapted from: anoregoncottage.com

9 thoughts on “I always forget to write a title!

Leave a comment