Coffee things to dip in coffee drinks

Standard

Sometimes I crave coffee (well, to be honest I always crave coffee), sometimes I crave coffee-flavoured sweets, and sometimes I crave some coffee-flavoured stuff to dip in my coffee. Just to be sure I’m starting my day correctly (or I’m having a snack correctly).

IMG_5881

I still have probably 15 of these cookies left and I’m already thinking what to cook next: will it be coffee ice cream or coffee cake? Mocha cupcakes with expresso frosting? Mega-big mocha frappuccino? Espresso truffles? These are difficult decisions and I feel like I need caffeine to take them!

IMG_5888

Maybe I should call these cookies “mocha” cookies, because there is a lot of cocoa. But the coffee taste is so much more powerful that it feels completely wrong. So I will call them “the best thing to dip in your morning coffee after Oreos”, because Oreos are good dipped everywhere.

IMG_5915

Or not? I just had the best idea for a party night!! The dip-your-oreo-in-weird-food challenge! How does it sound? Probably half of the world already thought about it and if I open youtube now I’ll find thousands of videos. Who cares! I wanna do it! I’ll prepare… I don’t know. Guacamole, for sure. Chili sauce (we already tried dipping chocolate popcorn in chili sauce, actually). Mayo. Dijon mustard. Mexican cheesy dip. Spinach Artichoke dip!! I think we have a winner with this one! Endless possibilities…

IMG_5923

Coffee Fix: Solved!

  • Servings: 20 cookies
  • Difficulty: easy, but be patient
  • Print

While cooking…

Listen to: System of a down – Chop suey

Drink: Kahlua. Self-explanatory.

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup self-rising flour
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp cornstarch
  • a pinch of salt
  • 2 tbs unsalted butter
  • 2 tsp instant coffee
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar

Preparation:

  1. Preheat the oven at 350° F (180° C)
  2. Melt the butter and dissolve the coffee into it. It sounds easy but it turns out butter is not water and the damn coffee doesn’t want to dissolve. So insist! After maybe 5 minutes of stirring, the butter starts to turn brown and the coffee clumps are smaller, and that’s ok for now, you can proceed to the next step
  3. Add the egg and stir again. The coffee is getting better but not 100%
  4. Add the brown sugar and mix well, and finally you should succeed in dissolving all the coffee! YAY!!
  5. In a separate bowl, mix together flour, cornstarch, cocoa and salt, than add it all to the butter mixture. If you like, you can also add some chocolate chips now!
  6. Mix well, then form 20 cookies or so. Shape them with your hands into patties, because cooking they will rise and get bigger (a lot). Also, place them fairly apart in the cooking sheet or tin of your choise
  7. Bake at 350° F (180° C) for 16-18 minutes

Now for the final touches:

  • Calories: 63 per cookie, pretty good I’d say.
  • Fridge: no need, they will keep good a lot, at least one week
  • Freezable: nope
  • Next day: still awesome
  • Cold: good!
  • Hot: really good if you eat them out of the oven
  • Re-heating: don’t, dip them in something hot instead
  • Made by: Eli
  • Adapted from: amyshealthybaking.com

5 thoughts on “Coffee things to dip in coffee drinks

  1. Well, I’m hungry for sweet, chocolatey-coffee cookies now, and all I have on hand are some whole wheat coconut sandies. Oh well. Eat them first, then on to some mocha cookies this weekend!

    Like

Leave a comment